Reshaping my Judy

A couple years ago I bought this display mannequin with the intention of turning it into a proper judy! After a few years of procrastination I decided 2017 was the year to do it!

wp-image-1577224628jpg.jpgThe shell of the mannequin is a hard plaster with a fabric overlay, so it is very sturdy!

I began with taking my current measurements and mapped out my body on the judy. Since this is a display the body type is not the most realistic the waist was quite a bit narrower and higher then mine.

wp-image-119395208jpg.jpgTo lengthen the judy I attached a foam board to the bottom and duct taped it securely. Then attached some poly batting to fill in the waist and bust, and add some length to the shoulders.

wp-image-2143038014jpg.jpg

The next step was adding foam around the hips, waist, sides and back of the judy. I had a few mishaps with this step but I was able to remedy it with adding small pieces of leftover foam and poly batting!

wp-image-547531678jpg.jpg

Next I  attached a partial layer of batting to contain any loose bits of foam and for a general smoothing over.

wp-image-1403318671jpg.jpg

wp-image-1315632566jpg.jpg

wp-image-767928626jpg.jpg

I then added the final layer of batting for a smoothing layer before finishing with a cotton knit cover.

wp-image-122365216jpg.jpg

I fitted the cover by draping it over the judy and pinned into place.

Once it was fitting how I wanted it to, I removed the cover and sewed up the side and shoulder seams. I finished the bottom of the cover by folding over the bottom of the edge to create a channel for a drawstring.

The last steps were reattaching the wooden neck cap and basting on twill tape guild lines!wp-image-673578859jpg.jpg

 


wp-image-1884621136jpg.jpg

wp-image-1173954778jpg.jpg

I am thrilled with how it turned out and I can’t wait to start on my next project!!

Leave a Reply

