Peach Fest Dress!

Peach Fest is fast approaching in the Okanagan! In light of that I decided to sew Helana her first of many handmade dresses!

I had been eyeing up some adorable peach fabric at work before I went on maternity leave and after having a girl I knew I had to make it into a dress! (and bonus is was 75% off when I got it!)

image

Since there was only 1 meter left I had to find a pattern that didn’t have a lot of gathers/poof. ย I decided on new look 6062 and cut out a medium of view C.
Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 2.42.01 PM

The dress came together in a few hours over the space of a couple days and over all I am really happy with ๐Ÿ™‚

image

image

I love shaped buttons!

I did make a few changes, the original pattern had the accent band at the bottom of the dress but when I tried that I really didn’t like how it looked, and it made the dress too long for Helana so I moved it a few inches above the hem.

The pattern is very simple, but if I make it again I would add facings for the neck and arm holes instead of using bias tape for a cleaner finish.

image

She is going to look adorable in it!

Until next time!

Update 14/08/16

She is still learning to sit ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

